Explore, enjoy and protect the planet

President Obama Designates Five New National Monuments

Email this
Monday, March 25, 2013
Eitan Bencuya, eitan.bencuya@sierraclub.org, 202-495-3047

Washington, D.C.  Today, President Barack Obama designated five new national monuments across the country.  The monuments will protect hundreds of thousands of acres of land in Rio Grande Del Norte in New Mexico, the San Juan Islands in Washington State, the Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Monument in Maryland, the Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers National Monument in Ohio, and the Delaware Heritage Trail, the first national monument in the state.  

In response, Michael Brune, Sierra Club Executive Director, released the following statement:

“The Sierra Club and our 2.1 million members and supporters applaud President Obama’s designation of five new national monuments across the country. These new national monuments will protect a diverse set of culturally and historically significant sites for all Americans to explore and enjoy. They’ll also generate significant economic opportunities for surrounding local communities.  

“From the vast, spectacular cliffs of the Rio Grande Del Norte to the smaller, but hugely significant Harriet Tubman Underground Railroad National Monument on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, these new monuments honor the contributions of African American, Native American and Hispanic leaders, and showcase our nation’s rich cultural heritage and natural beauty.

“We thank President Obama and Interior Secretary Ken Salazar for protecting these remarkable landscapes and establishing new national treasures for Americans to explore and enjoy for generations to come.”


Email this